North East community consultation

Shepparton the Starting Point for Victorian Treaty  Community Consultation 

Melbourne – 14 February 2020  Shepparton’s Parklake Hotel was the starting point for Victorian Treaty community consultations being undertaken by the recently elected First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria. 

During last year’s Assembly elections, three Victorian Traditional Owners from the state’s North East region were elected to the Assembly: 

  • Leanne Miller 
  • Geraldine Atkinson 
  • Nartarsha Bamblett 

Also in attendance was Assembly Co-Chair Marcus Stewart, elected to the Assembly by members of the Taungurung Land and Waters Council to represent thclans of the Taungurung.   

Ms. Atkinson, who also serves on the Assembly as a Co-Chair, commented: “Community consultations are crucial to the Assembly’s Treaty process work. 

With Treaty we are breaking new ground in this country; and community consultations ensure every Victorian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander is included – and heard – on this historic journey.” 

In contrast to representatives elected in State and Federal elections, Assembly members conduct open consultations with their respective communities prior to each of the Assembly general meetings. 

Community consultations are being held in the states other four regions during this week, with the next Assembly general meeting being held in Melbourne at the end of February at the Melbourne-based Aborigines Advancement League.