Groundbreaking Treaty process to formally proceed to next phase

The Treaty Advancement Commissioner, Jill Gallagher AO, has today formally recommended the Victorian Government move to the next phase of the groundbreaking Treaty process.

The Commissioner has written to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Gavin Jennings, recommending he declare the First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria to be the Aboriginal Representative Body. The declaration is a requirement of the Advancing the Treaty Process with Aboriginal Victorians Act 2018 – Australia’s first Treaty laws. The Minister must make the declaration based on this recommendation.

The Assembly will be the voice for Aboriginal people in the next phase of the Treaty process.
It will represent communities in setting – along with government – the ‘ground rules’ for negotiations, including how Treaties can be agreed in Victoria. It will also help set up the Treaty Authority, which will be an independent umpire through the Treaty process.
The Assembly is made up of 32 seats – 21 determined in a vote of Aboriginal communities in September and October, and 11 reserved for the 11 formally recognised Traditional Owner groups.
The Treaty Advancement Commission was set up to establish the Assembly. When the Assembly is established, the Commission will cease to exist.
Media contact:
Murray Silby, 0474 977 307
Charles Pakana, 0412 081 855