Additional pathways to recognition – Guidelines for Comments

May 6, 2022

The First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria (Assembly) is the collective voice for Traditional Owners and Aboriginal Victorians to participate in Treaty discussions.

We currently have a total of 31 Members, with 21 Members elected and a reserved seat for every Traditional Owner Group formally recognised under legislation.

We have developed an additional pathway under our constitution for Traditional Owners who are not formally recognised under legislation to apply for a reserved seat on the Assembly.

A decision to grant or refuse a new reserved seat is made by the whole Assembly Chamber, taking into account all available facts, including evidence given by applicants and relevant information raised in comments by interested parties.

Use this guide to learn more about making comments.