The Assembly

The First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria is the elected voice for Aboriginal people and communities in future Treaty discussions.

The Assembly was elected from Aboriginal communities and traditional owner groups in Victoria in 2019.

The workload ahead of us is enormous. Although, as laid out by the legislation, our purpose and operations are very focused.

We will not negotiate a Treaty and/or Treaties with the State Government. Rather, we will work with State government to create the Treaty Negotiation Framework for negotiations and the rules and processes by which a Treaty/or Treaties can be agreed in Victoria.

This includes the self-determination fund that will help Aboriginal groups negotiate on an equal footing with the government; a Treaty Authority, or independent umpire, to oversee Treaty negotiations; and an Elders Voice to provide cultural guidance to the Assembly.

Metro - MembersMetropolitan
June 29, 2020

Muriel Bamblett

Muriel Bamblett, Assembly Member for Metropolitan Proud Yorta Yorta and Dja Dja Wurrung Muriel Bamblett…
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 9, 2019

Sean Fagan

Contact: seanf@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 9, 2019

Dylan Clarke

Contact: dylanc@firstpeoplesvic.org   More information coming soon.
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 9, 2019

Trent Nelson

Contact: trentn@firstpeoplesvic.org   More information coming soon.
NE - MembersReserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 9, 2019

Marcus Stewart

Contact: marcuss@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 9, 2019

Donna Wright

Contact: donnaw@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 9, 2019

Melissa Jones

Melissa Jones is a proud Latji Latji woman representing the First People of the Millewa-Mallee.  As…
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 9, 2019

Jamie Lowe

Contact: jamiel@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
North WestNW - Members
December 9, 2019

Raylene Harradine

Contact: rayleneh@firstpeoplesvic.org   More information coming soon.
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 9, 2019

Robert Ogden

Contact: roberto@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
NE - MembersNorth East
December 9, 2019

Leanne Miller

Leanne Miller, Assembly Member for the North East Dhulanyagen Ulupna of the Yorta Yorta people…
NE - MembersNorth East
December 9, 2019

Geraldine Atkinson

Contact: geraldinea@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
SE - MembersSouth East
December 9, 2019

Peter Hood

Assembly Member for the South East Region, Peter Hood is a proud Kurnai man with connections…
SE - MembersSouth East
December 5, 2019

Alice Pepper

Contact: alicep@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Metro - MembersMetropolitan
December 5, 2019

Alister Thorpe

Contact: alistert@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 5, 2019

Andrew Gardiner

Contact: andrewg@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Metro - MembersMetropolitan
December 5, 2019

Carolyn Briggs AM

Contact: carolynb@firstpeoplesvic.org More info coming soon
Metro - MembersMetropolitan
December 5, 2019

Esmerelda Bamblett

Contact: esmereldab@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
North WestNW - Members
December 5, 2019

Jacinta Chaplin

Contact: jacintac@firstpeoplesvic.org   More information coming soon.
North WestNW - Members
December 5, 2019

Jason Kelly

Contact: jasonk@firstpeoplesvic.org More Information coming soon
South WestSW - Members
December 5, 2019

Jordan Edwards

Assembly member for the South West Region, Jordan Edwards – a proud Gunditjmara, Arrernte and…
SE - MembersSouth East
December 5, 2019

Kaylene Williamson

Contact: kaylenew@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Metro - MembersMetropolitan
December 5, 2019

Trevor Gallagher

Contact: trevorg@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Reserved Seat HoldersRSH - Members
December 2, 2019

Troy McDonald

Contact: troym@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Metro - MembersMetropolitan
November 26, 2019

Tracey Evans

Contact: traceye@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
South WestSW - Members
November 26, 2019

Sissy Austin

Contact: sissya@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Metro - MembersMetropolitan
November 26, 2019

Rueben Berg

Introducing Metropolitan Member, Rueben Berg – a proud Gunditjmara man. Rueben has extensive experience working with Government in roles related…
Metro - MembersMetropolitan
November 26, 2019

Ngarra Murray

Contact: ngarram@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
NE - MembersNorth East
November 26, 2019

Nartarsha Bamblett

Contact: nartarshab@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
South WestSW - Members
November 26, 2019

Michael Bell

Contact: michaelb@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.
Metro - MembersMetropolitan
November 25, 2019

Matthew Burns

Contact: matthewb@firstpeoplesvic.org More information coming soon.

Assembly Artwork

The Assembly logo is part of a bigger piece of art called ‘Yakeen’, by Tom Day

“The artwork reflects the First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria.

The predominant image is the trees, strong and powerful roots planted deep within country. The scars representing culture and identity, formed from generations passing on knowledge, ensuring a continuing succession of proud and strong Peoples.

The leaves signify the future, the generations that will continue to come, benefiting by the seeds planted by the previous generations and the present.

The central design represents the coming together of the Assembly. The diversity of countrymen and countrywomen, young and old, linked by purpose.

The designs above and below the central design represent the journey being embarked on. The above design representing the conversation to date and the below design representing the conversation to come, unwritten, a new chapter.

The pink and orange design represents the past, our old people, our elders, our leaders, now in the dreaming but ever present. The reason we exist today is in their strength, courage, wisdom and compassion. Traits of character integral as much today as it was in the past.

The designs above and below the pink and orange design represent our lineages, from across the state. Each with a powerful story, each powerful and proud, evident today as it ever was.

The individual lines throughout the piece are representative of the people, past, present and the future.

The artwork is titled Yarkeen, a Gunditjmara word for dreaming, for we all dream of a better future for our generations that are coming and there is a power in a collective dream.”

Tom Day
Gunditjmara
Yorta Yorta
Wemba Wemba

Elders’ Voice

The Assembly is setting up an Elders’ Voice to ensure Elders are at the heart of a culturally strong Treaty process. This builds on the work of the Victorian Treaty Advancement Commission. In 2019, the Commission spoke with Elders from communities across Victoria about how an Elders’ Voice could operate.

read the report of consultations that took place

Aboriginal Electoral Roll

The Aboriginal Electoral Roll is a list of community members who have enrolled to vote for Assembly candidates. It is a way of making sure community can choose who is taking the Treaties process forward.

The same list will be used at the next Assembly election in 2022 – if you are enrolled, you will not need to sign up again. If you are not enrolled, and you are eligible, you’ll be able to sign up before the 2022 vote.