Additional Pathways
to Recognition

Self-Determination means deciding how we want to represent ourselves

The First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria is the elected voice for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the journey to Treaty for Victoria.

There are currently 32 Members who sit on the Assembly, 22 occupying general seats and the remaining in reserved seats – designated for each formally recognised Traditional Owner group.

The Assembly has developed an additional pathway for Traditional Owner groups who do not have formal recognition under legislation to apply for a reserved seat.

Groups can apply directly to the Assembly and will need to meet certain criteria. The Assembly Members will decide whether to grant a group a reserved seat. Once a group is granted a reserved seat, they can choose a representative to sit on the Assembly and work with other elected Members on developing the foundations for future Treaty-making.

Our application process is now open. Find out more below about how to apply for a reserved seat on the First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria.

As Traditional Owners, we have the right to choose how to represent ourselves. This means more room at the table for our mob, doing business our way.


Further Information & Resources

Application Criteria

To apply for a reserved seat on the Assembly, Traditional Owner groups must meet criteria over the following categories:

  1. The group’s application area is not represented in whole or in part by an existing seat on the Assembly
  2. The group’s application to become a Traditional Owner Group has significant support amongst Traditional Owners for the area
  3. The group is an established group or nation
  4. The group has an ongoing connection to Country

Traditional Owner Groups with a Reserved Seat on the Assembly:

  • Barengi Gadjin Land Council Aboriginal Corporation
  • Bunurong Land Council Aboriginal Corporation
  • Dja Dja Wurrung Clans Aboriginal Corporation
  • Eastern Maar Aboriginal Corporation
  • First People of the Millewa-Mallee Aboriginal Corporation
  • Gunaikurnai Land and Waters Aboriginal Corporation
  • Gunditj Mirring Traditional Owners Aboriginal Corporation
  • Taungurung Land and Waters Council Aboriginal Corporation
  • Wadawurrung Traditional Owners Aboriginal Corporation
  • Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Cultural Heritage Aboriginal Corporation
  • Yorta Yorta Nation Aboriginal Corporation (currently unfilled)

What’s a Reserved Seat?

The First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria has two types of seats for its Members. General seats are filled by elected Members during Assembly elections. Any Traditional Owner of Country in Victoria who is 18 years or older can stand for nomination. Only Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples can vote in Assembly elections. Reserved seats are filled by representatives of Traditional Owner groups formally recognised under legislation or those granted a reserved seat under the Assembly’s new Additional Reserved Seat Pathway.

The Assembly appreciates the struggle many of our communities have endured to gain formal recognition. Our hybrid model of general and reserved seats acknowledges this struggle and reflects our cultural practices while enabling community representation through an open, democratic process.